Datapanik In The Year Zero

Pere Ubu
Datapanik In The Year Zero

Out of print.

Datapanik In The Year Zero Links

The Modern Dance lyricsDub Housing lyricsNew Picnic Time lyricsThe Art Of Walking LyricsSong Of The Bailing Man Lyrics

Datapanik In The Year Zero Release Notes

The DIYZ box set was released in 1996 by Cooking Vinyl and Geffen in a 5-cd long box format. The constituent recordings were digitally transferred at 44.1khz/20-bit and eqed at Suma in 1994. Those masters became the basis a series of individual album releases on Cooking Vinyl in the late 90s.

The 2009 version of the box set contains the complete versions of the first five studio albums plus the Hearpen singles. Each cd comes in a full color, glossy cardboard sleeve replicating the artwork from the 1996 box. The 28-page booklet has been improved (better quality paper) and updated but is essentially the same.

For the 2009 re-issue the original 2-track, quarter-inch analog mix tapes were baked in the Suma oven to dry them out, re-transferred to digital at 192khz/24-bit resolution and then re-mastered in the same room and referencing to the same monitors on which they were originally mixed. The Modern Dance went through the same process except the transfer was accomplished at 96khz/24-bit. The masters are as follows:
The Modern Dance 2005 Master
Dub Housing 2008 Master
New Picnic Time 2008 Master
The Art Of Walking 2008 Master
Song Of The Bailing Man 2008 Master
Hearpen Singles 2008 Master

The booklet and packaging were redesigned and reconfigured by John Thompson.

Datapanik In The Year Zero Production Notes

CD1: 1975 - 1977
Tracks 1 to 7 are the Hearpen recordings, released as singles from 1975 to 1977. "Street Waves," also a Hearpen single, was released on The Modern Dance unchanged, i.e. the same mix. Tracks 8 to 17 comprise The Modern Dance (1978) produced by Ken Hamann and Pere Ubu. Track 18 is an out-take of the Dub Housing session that appeared as a UK b-side in 1979.

CD2: 1978 - 1979
Tracks 1 to 10 comprise Dub Housing (1978) produced by Ken Hamann and Pere Ubu. Tracks 11 to 20 comprise New Picnic Time (1979) produced by Ken Hamann and Pere Ubu.

CD3: 1980 - 1982
Tracks 1 to 11 comprise The Art Of Walking (1980), produced by Pere Ubu and Paul Hamann. Tracks 12 to 22 comprise Song Of The Bailing Man (1982), produced by Adam Kidron.

Datapanik In The Year Zero Release History

Datapanik In The Year Zero Songs

CD1: 1975 - 1977
30 Seconds Over Tokyo
Heart of Darkness
Final Solution
Cloud 149
My Dark Ages
Non-Alignment Pact
The Modern Dance
Street Waves
Chinese Radiation
Life Stinks
Real World
Over My Head
Sentimental Journey
Humor Me
The Book Is On The Table

CD2: 1978 - 1979
On The Surface
Dub Housing
Caligari's Mirror
I Will Wait
Drinking Wine Spodyody
Ubu Dance Party
Blow Daddy-o
The Fabulous Sequel
49 Guitars & One Girl
A Small Dark Cloud
Small Was Fast
All The Dogs Are Barking
One Less Worry
Make Hay
Voice of The Sand
Kingdom Come

CD3: 1980 - 1982
Rhapsody In Pink
Young Miles In The Basement
Misery Goats
Lost In Art
Crush This Horn
The Long Walk Home
Use Of A Dog
Stormy Weather
West Side Story
Thoughts That Go By Steam
Big Ed's Used Farms
A Day Such As This
The Vulgar Boatman Bird
My Hat
Horns Are A Dilemma

CD4: Terminal Drive
Foreign Bodies, The Incredible Truth
15-60-75, It's In Imagination
Syd's Dance Band, Never Again
Carney & Thomas, Sunset In The Antipodes
Home & Garden, (please) FIX MY HORN (my brakes don't work)
Neptune's Car, Baking Bread
David Thomas, Atom Mind
Tripod Jimmie, Autumn Leaves
Friction, Dear Richard
Pressler-Morgan, You're Gonna Watch Me
Rocket From The Tombs, Amphetamine
Mirrors, She Smiled Wild
Electric Eels, Jaguar Ride
Tom Herman, Steve Canyon Blues
Allen Ravenstine, Home Life
Rocket From The Tombs, 30 Seconds Over Tokyo
Pere Ubu, Heart of Darkness
Pere Ubu, Pushin Too Hard

Press Reaction

The Independent (1996)
This particular box contains some of the most harrowing, incendiary music ever made... Without this music, not only would punk probably never have happened, but the most interesting post-punk developments - from the likes of Talking Heads and Joy Division - might never have reached the starting-line either. Essential.